Pilot Course Fees in India

Pilot course fees in India can vary depending on the training institute and the type of course (multi engine rating / non-multi engine rating). It’s best to check with specific flight training schools / clubs / institutes for accurate information. However, the lum-sum fees for basic training which is 200 hours minimum along with 5 DGCA papers can range from around 45 lakhs to 1 crore, depending on the type of course and flight school you choose. It’s always a good idea to research and compare different institutes to find the best fit for you.

Types of Pilot

There are several types of pilots, each with their own specialisation, such as:

  • Commercial Pilots: Commercial pilots are trained to fly aircraft for various commercial purposes, such as transporting passengers or cargo. They often work for airlines or charter companies.
  • Airline Pilots: Airline pilots are a type of commercial pilot who fly for scheduled airlines. They operate larger aircraft and follow strict regulations and procedures to ensure safe and efficient flights.
  • Helicopter / Chopper Pilots: Helicopter/Chopper pilots specialise in flying helicopters. They may be involved in tasks such as aerial photography, emergency medical services, search and rescue operations or transportation of goods and people to remote locations.
  • Military Pilots: Military pilots are trained to fly military aircraft for defense and combat purposes. They undergo rigorous training and may be involved in missions such as air combat, reconnaissance, or transport of troops and supplies.
  • Private Pilots: Private pilots fly for personal or recreational purposes. They may own or rent their own aircraft and enjoy flying as a hobby or for leisure travel.

These are a few examples, there are other specialised types of pilots as well like flying instructors, simulator pilots, aerobatic pilots etc. Each type requires specific training, license, certifications and qualifications.

Type of pilot license

There are different types of pilot licenses that you can obtain depending on your career goals and level of training, such as:

  • Student Pilot Licese (SPL): This is the first step in your flying training journey. It allows you to fly under the supervision of a flight instructor.
  • Private Pilot License (PPL): With a PPL, you can fly for recreational purposes and carry passengers, but you cannot fly for commercial purposes or generate revenue.
  • Commercial Pilot License (CPL): A CPL allows you to fly for commercial purposes, such as working for an airline or conducting aerial tours.
  • Airline transport Pilot License (ATPL): An ATPL is the highest level of pilot license. It is required for pilots who want to fly as captains for commercial airlines.

These are a few examples, and there may be additional specialized licenses depending on the type of aircraft or specific operations you want to pursue. Each and every license has its own set of requirements and privileges.

Roles and responsibilities of Pilot

The roles and responsibilities of a pilot can vary depending on the type of pilot and the specific job they have. However, there are some common responsibilities that every pilots typically have:

  • Pre-flight Preparation: Pilots are responsible for conducting pre-flight checks, which include reviewing weather conditions, flight plans and aircraft systems. Once an AME hands over the aircraft to pilots, they ensure that the aircraft is in a proper working condition before every take-off.
  • Aircraft Operation: Pilots are responsible for operating the aircraft during the flight. This includes takeoff, navigation, communication with Air traffic Control and landing. They must follow flight plans, maintain proper altitude and speed, and make adjustments as required.
  • Safety and Security: Before every take-off there is an important role played by an Aircraft Maintenance Engineer to insure the fitness of an aircraft, they handover the fitness certificate of that aircraft which is called CRS (certificate release to service, then after pilots are responsible for the safety and security of the aircraft, crew and passengers. They must be vigilant in identifying and responding to any potential risks or emergencies during the flight.
  • Communication: Pilots need to effectively communicate with air traffic control, crew members and passengers, They provide updates on flight status, weather conditions, and any necessary instructions or announcements.
  • Decision Making: Pilots make critical decisions during the flight, such as route diversion – diverting flight to an alternate/nearby airport in case of addressing emergency, mechanical issues or even for that matter under bad weather circumstances. They must assess situations quickly and make informed decisions to ensure the safety of everyone on board.
  • Continuous Training: Pilots undergo regular training and assessments to maintain their skills and stay updated on new regulations and procedures. This includes simulator training, emergency procedures, and staying current with upcoming technologies or aviation knowledge.

These are just some of the key responsibilities of pilots. It’s a challenging and rewarding profession that requires a high level of skill, knowledge and professionalism.

Requirements to become a pilot

To become a pilot in India, there are a few requirements you need to fulfil:

  • Age: You must be at least 17 years old to obtain a Student Pilot License and 18 years old to obtain a Private Pilot License.
  • Educational Qualification: You need to have completed 10+2 with PCM (Physics, Chemistry & Mathematics) as a subject from a recognized board with minimum 50% as a grade.
  • Medical Fitness: You must undergo a medical examination conducted by a DGCA approved medical examiner to ensure you meet the medical fitness requirements along with 6/6 eyesight.
  • Flight Training: You need to complete flight training at a DGCA approved flying school. He training includes ground classes, minimum 200 hours of actual flight hours and simulator training,
  • Written Examination: You have to pass written examinations conducted by the DGCA on subjects like Air Regulations, Navigation General, Technical General, Meteorology & RT(R).
  • Flight Hours: You need to accumulate a minimum 200 hours of flight, including solo flying hours and cross country flying hours as specified by the DGCA.
  • License: After completing the required training and meeting all the criteria of DGCA, you apply for PPL (private pilot license) or CPL (commercial pilot license) depending on your career goals.

These requirements may vary slightly depending on the specific type of pilot license you are aiming for. It’s always a good idea to reach out to a DGCA approved flying school for detailed and up to date information.

Admission Enquiry Form 2024

up to 100% Scholarship (IIA CET) Admission Test on 15-April-2024

Google reCaptcha: Invalid site key.